Housing allocation - points system

When you apply for a home through the Housing Executive, you will be assessed and if you are eligible, you may be awarded points according to your housing needs.

The points system

Your position on the waiting list is based on the points you get under four main categories:

  • intimidation - points may be awarded if you are at serious and imminent risk, and require immediate rehousing
  • insecurity of tenure - if you are homeless or threatened with homelessness - the level of points depends on the duty owed
  • housing conditions - points for poor housing circumstances both in terms of physical conditions and the degree of sharing/overcrowding being experienced
  • health/social well being assessment - points for a range of health and social well-being circumstances including issues about your mobility in your existing home as well as any social, support and care needs you may have

Points awarded under any of these categories will decide your total points level and your position on the waiting list. You'll receive your points total in writing.

More useful links


Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.