Geographical index

Part of: Guides to PRONI records

This index provides a helpful guide to understanding and identifying historical civil and ecclesiastical territories within the six counties of Northern Ireland.

For further information on geographical divisions within Northern Ireland and their historical context, see areas, regions and land divisions. For example, townlands within parishes and counties, parishes in each county and Dioceses, Baronies or Poor Law Unions within Northern Ireland.

Northern Ireland is divided into six counties:

Northern Ireland Counties

Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.