Poor law unions

Poor Law Unions (or Superintendant Registrar's Districts) were the areas of administration for poor relief established under the Poor Relief (Ireland) Act, 1838. They became Superintendant Registrars' Districts at the end of the 19th century.

Alphabetical list of poor law unions

Because these areas centred on large market towns to a radius of about 10 miles, they often tended to cross county boundaries.

  • Armagh (County Armagh)
  • Ballycastle (County Antrim)
  • Ballymena (County Antrim)
  • Ballymoney (County Antrim)
  • Ballyshannon (Counties Fermanagh, Donegal and Leitrim)
  • Banbridge (County Armagh and Down)
  • Belfast (Counties Antrim and Down)
  • Castleblayney (Counties Armagh and Monaghan)
  • Castlederg (County Tyrone)
  • Clogher (County Tyrone)
  • Clones (Counties Fermanagh and Monaghan)
  • Coleraine (County Londonderry)
  • Cookstown (County Tyrone)
  • Downpatrick (County Down)
  • Dungannon (County Tyrone)
  • Enniskillen (Counties Fermanagh and Cavan)
  • Irvinestown (Counties Fermanagh and Tyrone)
  • Kilkeel (County Down)
  • Larne (County Antrim)
  • Limavady (County Londonderry)
  • Lisburn (Counties Antrim and Down)
  • Lisnaskea (County Fermanagh)
  • Londonderry (Counties Londonderry and Donegal)
  • Lurgan (Counties Antrim, Armagh and Down)
  • Magherafelt (County Londonderry)
  • Newry (Counties Armagh and Down)
  • Newtownards (County Down)
  • Omagh (County Tyrone)
  • Strabane (Counties Tyrone and Donegal)

More useful links


Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.