The Christian Church developed an administrative structure of dioceses, each made up of groups of parishes and presided over by a bishop.

Dioceses in Northern Ireland

This guide shows the ecclesiastical territories within the six counties of Northern Ireland.

Map shows the dioceses within the six counties of Northern Ireland.

Alphabetical list of dioceses

  • Armagh (Counties Armagh, Londonderry and Tyrone)
  • Clogher (Counties Armagh, Fermanagh and Tyrone)
  • Connor (Counties Antrim, Down and Londonderry)
  • Derry (Counties Antrim, Londonderry and Tyrone)
  • Down (Counties Antrim and Down)
  • Dromore (Counties Antrim, Armagh and Down)
  • Kilmore (County Fermanagh)
  • Newry and Mourne (Counties Armagh and Down)

More useful links


Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.