The Curriculum for 11 to 16 year olds

Your child will move through Key Stages 3 and 4 between the ages of 11 to 16. During Key Stage 4 most will work towards national qualifications – usually GCSEs.

Key Stage 3 and 4 of the Curriculum

This aims to better prepare children for life and work in the 21st century. As well as developing knowledge and understanding, the Curriculum will develop the skills which children need in today's world.

The areas covered are much the same as those under the previous curriculum but the content for each area is now set out differently. This is to give schools more flexibility on how they deliver teaching to meet children's needs.

From Year 8 to year 10, your child will be studying at Key Stage 3 level. From Year 11 to Year 12, your child will be studying Key Stage 4 subjects, working towards their GCSEs.

You can find out more on the Curriculum at Key Stages 3 and 4 on the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment website:

Guides for parents on the curriculum

The Council for the Curriculum Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) have produced two booklets for parents of primary and post-primary children on the curriculum and what to expect when their child starts school. The booklets can be downloaded below.

Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.