PRONI Guide to Church Records

Date published: 31 October 2018

Part of: Guides to PRONI records

This guide is an easy way to identify what churches are in a parish, what records exist for each church, the covering dates for each series of records (for example, baptisms, marriages, vestry minutes etc.) and their PRONI reference number.

A separate list of church records available as digital copies in PRONI is also provided below.


Denominations included are Church of Ireland, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, Non-Subscribing Presbyterian, Reformed Presbyterian, Methodist, Moravian, Congregational, Baptist and Religious Society of Friends' (Quakers').  Normally, there will be more than one denomination of church in each parish.  The denomination of a church can be identified in the Guide by the preceeding code (for example, C.I. = Church of Ireland, P. = Presbyterian Church and R.C. = Roman Catholic Church).  The majority of parishes covered in the Guide are located within the six counties of Northern Ireland, however PRONI holds some records from parishes in the Republic of Ireland, particularly the border counties of Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Leitrim and Louth.


Share this page


Your comments are anonymous and can’t be responded to - if you would like a reply, use the feedback form.

Your comments
Plain text only, 750 characters maximum. Don't include personal or financial information.