Northern Ireland government departments

Contact details for the Northern Ireland Government Departments

  • The Executive Office

    Contact details for The Executive Office (TEO). The department's objectives include supporting Ministers and the institutions of government, building a programme for government.

  • Department of Education

    Contact details for the Department of Education (DE), which main areas of responsibility are in pre-school, primary, post-primary and special education; the youth service; the promotion of community relations within and between schools; and teacher education and salaries.

  • Department for the Economy

    Contact details for the Department for the Economy, responsible for economic policy development, enterprise, innovation, energy, telecoms, tourism, health and safety at work, Insolvency Service, consumer affairs, and labour market and economic statistics services, learning and research, skills training and promoting good employment practice.

  • Department of Finance

    Contact details for the Department of Finance, which aims to prioritise the use of resources available to Northern Ireland, make sure that these are used efficiently and secure the reform and modernisation of public services; and to deliver efficient and cost effective services to the public in the Department's areas of executive responsibility

  • Department of Health

    Contact details for the Department of Health, whose mission is to improve the health and social well-being of the people of Northern Ireland and Public Safety, which covers policy and legislation for fire and rescue services

  • Department of Justice

    Contact details for the Department of Justice (DOJ) which has a range of devolved policing and justice functions

  • Department for Infrastructure

    Contact details for the Department for Infrastructure, whose main responsibilities are to develop infrastructure and services that are vital for everyone in Northern Ireland. This includes water and sewerage networks, roads and footpaths, public transport services, vehicle regulation, road safety, driver licensing, and rivers and inland waterways.

  • Department for Communities

    Contact details for the Department for Communities, which responsibilities include urban regeneration, community and voluntary sector development, historic environment, social legislation, housing, social security benefits, pensions and child support, debt advice, public records, Employment Service, promoting equality, and development of arts and culture.

  • Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

    Contact details for the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (DAERA). The Department assists the competitive development of the agri-food, fishing and forestry sectors of the Northern Ireland economy, carries out environmental functions and has policy responsibility for Northern Ireland's Sustainability Strategy.


Would you like to leave feedback about this page? Send us your feedback