Skip to content

Local government structure

Local government in Northern Ireland is currently made up of 26 councils. These councils provide a range of services, such as your local sport and leisure centre or arranging your waste collection. A reform programme is under way which will see 11 new councils take over from the current 26 on 1 April 2015.

Your local council

You can find out more about your local council and the services it provides by visiting its website. You can get contact details for local councils at the following:

How your local council works

Local councils are run by democratically-elected councillors. Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the local community about local services, such as waste collections, tourism and leisure facilities.

Local government reform programme

The reform of local government will see the reduction of 26 councils to 11. The new councils will take over on 1 April 2015.

The new councils will be bigger, deliver extra services, and have new responsibilities and powers.

You can find more information about the local government reform programme, associated legislation and frequently asked questions on the Department of the Environment (DOE) website at the following link.

More useful links