Skip to content

Claim health treatment in Europe (European Health Insurance Card, formerly E111)

Inside the European Economic Area (EEA), free or reduced-cost emergency treatment is available to UK patients with a European Health Insurance Card (EHIC).

Apply for a European Health Insurance Card (EHIC)

Which countries are covered?

The EEA consists of the 27 member states of the European Union plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Switzerland is also covered with some exceptions

More useful links